Biography / Contact


Belinde Ruth Stieve. Photo: Steffi Henn

 

Belinde Ruth Stieve

independent Researcher. Expert on Diversity Change in Narrative and Society. Inventor of NEROPA.

Belinde Ruth Stieve is a German actress from Hamburg, she works for film and television and as voice artist, and has performed in all 16 German Länder (subdivisions of the state) with her solo literary project “Gelesenheiten – inszenierte Literatur für jeden Anlass“.

When she reached 40, she noticed less role offers coming in. In order to find an explanation for this she started systematically evaluating the casts of film productions and got the confirmation that an already existing gender imbalance for roles increases even more from the age of 40 onwards. She decided to get to the bottom of this and in 2013 began analyzing and commenting on film and television, focussing on the situation of women and men in front of and behind the camera and its effects.

In 2013 she started her bilingual blog SchspIN – An Actress’s Thoughts. This was followed by an involvement in the First Diversity Report 2010-13 of the German Directors’ Union BVR, consulting institutions and organisations (German TV ZDF Kleines Fernsehspiel, FFA German Federal Film Board, Degeto TV production company, BFI and others) and invitations to panels and events. Stieve is a member of EWA European Audiovisual Network, and supports Women in  Film and TelevisionPro Quote Film und other initiatives for change. She gives talks in workshops in Germany and abroad (Into the Wild Mentoring Programme, FSE Day of Dramaturgy, FU Berlin, UdK Berlin, Skript Akademie, WIFT Germany, WIFT UK, Equity UK, Irish Equity, verdi FilmUnion, BFFS, Academy of Arts etc.).

Because analyzing the status quo alone does not lead to change, Belinde Ruth Stieve invented the method NEROPA Neutral Roles Parity in 2016, to reduce gender imbalance in film casts and raise awareness, With it she is also showing other areas of society a way out of unequal situations and discriminatory mechanisms.

For statistical analysis of scripts and roles she uses, among others, DramaQueen, a software for script writers and authors.

.

Mail contact: SchspIN {at} posteo {dot} de

 

.

Biographie / Kontakt


Belinde Ruth Stieve. Foto: Steffi Henn

.

Belinde Ruth Stieve

Unabhängige Empirikerin. Expertin für Diversitätswandel in Narrativ und Gesellschaft. Erfinderin von NEROPA.

Belinde Ruth Stieve ist eine Schauspielerin aus Hamburg, sie arbeitet für Film und Fernsehen und als Sprecherin, und ist in allen 16 Bundesländern mit ihrem Soloprogramm „Gelesenheiten – inszenierte Literatur für jeden Anlass“ aufgetreten.

Als sie die 40 überschritt stellte Stieve fest, dass Rollenangebote für Film und Fernsehen zurückgingen. Auf der Suche nach einer Ursache begann sie, systematisch Rollenlisten von Filmproduktionen auszuwerten und tatsächlich, ein ohnehin schon vorhandenes Rollenungleichgewicht der Geschlechter nimmt über 40 noch mehr zu. Sie beschloss, der Sache weiter auf den Grund zu gehen und sie begann, die Film- und Fernsehbranche – speziell die unterschiedliche Situation von Frauen und Männern vor und hinter der Kamera und ihre Auswirkungen – zu analysieren und kommentieren.

2013 startete sie ihr deutsch-englisches Blog „SchspIN – Gedanken einer Schauspielerin“. Es folgten die Mitarbeit am Ersten Diversitätsbericht 2010-13 des Bundesverbands Regie BVR, die Beratung von Institutionen und Gremien (Redaktion ZDF Kleines Fernsehspiel, FFA, Degeto; PACT, BFI u.a.) und regelmäßige Teilnahmen an Panels und Podien. Stieve ist Mitglied im EWA European Audiovisual Network und unterstützt Women in  Film and TelevisionPro Quote Film und andere Initiativen für einen Wandel. Sie hält Vorträge und gibt Workshops im In- und Ausland (Into the Wild Mentoringprogramm, FSE Tag der Dramaturgie, FU Berlin, UdK Berlin, Skript Akademie, WIFT Germany, WIFT UK, Equity UK, Irish Equity, verdi FilmUnion, BFFS, Akademie der Künste u.a.m.).

Da Analysen des Istzustands noch keine Veränderungen bringen hat Belinde Ruth Stieve 2016 die Methode NEROPA Neutrale Rollen Parität erfunden, um die Unterrepräsentanz von Frauen in Filmen und Serien abzubauen und auch für andere gesellschaftliche Bereiche einen Weg aus einseitiger Männerdominanz zu Gleichberechtigung und mehr Diversität aufzuzeigen.

Zur statistischen Auswertung von Drehbüchern, Rollen und Rollengrößen verwendet sie u.a. die Drehbuchsoftware DramaQueen.

hode.

Emailkontakt: SchspIN {at} posteo {dot} de

.