NEROPA during Script Development


The NEROPA method was developed for scripts, to reduce the gender imbalance before shooting starts and the casting process is done. But actually the NEROPA principles can even be applied successfully at an  earlier stage.

Write first, decide later

In most cases the course for gender distribution in films is set very early. The leading character, the protagonist and antagonist, the two or three roles in the centre are in most cases created at the beginning, and their gender is determined as well. In the course of developing the script, as writing time goes by, during the various phases of the script (see also: DramaWiki: Text-types) other characters are added so that in the end there are 15 or 25 or even more speaking roles.
I can imagine leading characters will be drawn in greater detail and revised numerous times. This happens less often with supporting roles and least with the nameless smallies. With them it may just be the basic question of in-or-out: Do I keep “neighbour“? Or does he have so little to say that I can merge him with “postman“?
With some characters, there‘s no need for deciding their gender for a long time. They are neutral and can be actively and visibly classified as such, quite officially. This can be done on an overview concept sheet, on (green) index cards, with little wooden or plastic figures you use for visualizing the characters, or digitally. They can even get gender neutral first names for a start, Chris, Stevie, Robin, Jackie, just surnames without Mr / Ms, or be called by their profession, maybe stressing the neutralness if it is not generally perceived as neutral. Be inventive! (teacher, police officer, plumbing person, acter, chippy shop).
While the script is growing and the story getting more depth, reasons why Chris and teacher have to be male, and Stevie and plumbing person female may come up. The others will remain neutral, and finally can tadaaa! be defined as femalemalefemalemale alternately in the NEROPA way. And get names if they haven‘t got any yet. Or you simply leave them as neutral and pass the cast list on like this to the production and particularly to the casting director who then will suggest acting people most suitable (see also The Future is Now).

NEROPA in der Stoffentwicklung


Die NEROPA Methode ist für fertige Drehbücher entwickelt, um vor Drehbeginn und Besetzungsabschluss das Genderungleichgewicht abzubauen. Allerdings kann das NEROPA Prinzip auch schon zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt erfolgreich eingesetzt werden.

Schreibe erst, entscheide später

Schon früh werden die Weichen für die Geschlechterverteilung und somit meistens das Männerübergewicht im Film gestellt. Die Hauptrolle, oder die zwei, drei Hauptfiguren, stehen meist von Anfang an fest und mit ihnen ihr Geschlecht. Nach und nach, im Laufe der Stoffentwicklung, beim Schreiben (siehe auch: DramaWiki: Textformen) kommen andere Personen dazu, bis es am Ende 15 oder 25 oder noch mehr Sprechrollen sind.
Vermutlich werden die Hauptfiguren gründlicher gezeichnet und häufiger überarbeitet. Die Nebenrollen schon weniger, und die namenlosen noch seltener. Da stellt sich vermutlich eher die Rein-oder-Raus-Frage. Bleibt der Nachbar drin? Oder hat er am Ende so wenig zu sagen und ist so uninteressant, dass er mit dem Briefträger verschmelzen kann?

Bei einigen Figuren gibt es im Entstehungsprozess des Drehbuchs lange keine Entscheidung und keinen Grund für ein bestimmtes Geschlecht. Sie sind neutral und können aktiv und sichtbar als solche klassifiziert werden. Auf der Handlungsübersicht, der – grünen – Karteikarte mit den Figureninfos, als grüne Figur zum Ausprobieren von Figurenkonstellationen, in der Textdatei oder Drehbuchsoftware. Vielleicht können sie am Anfang auch genderneutrale Namen oder Bezeichnungen bekommen: Uli, Chris, Pit, Schobert, Berning, Kiosk (statt Kioskbesitzer*in), Dr. (statt Ärztin / Arzt) usw. usf.

Vielleicht erwachsen im Laufe des Schreibens klare Gründe dafür, dass Uli und Kiosk männlich, und Chris und Schobert weiblich sein müssen. Die übrigen sind am Ende immer noch neutral, – und werden tadaaa! mit Hilfe der Neutralen Rollen Parität abwechselnd als FrauMannFrau Mann definiert. Oder sie bleiben einfach neutral und es wird Sache der Caster*innen, geeignete Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler vorzuschlagen (siehe auch Die Zukunft hat begonnen).